Like you were just a wish that turned out well….

When I’m debating with theists the argument is always the same.  They insist that there has to be a God or else there is no purpose. To which I ask “Who says there has to be a purpose?”

What if existence just happens?

I don’t think people are well equipped to accept uncertainty.  I think they are terribly frightened by the idea that anything can happen.  I find this to be a bit ironic since the only honest absolute truth in our reality is the arbitrary nature of it.  That’s not to say that people can suddenly become trees, even reality must abide by the laws of physics, but it is to say that at this moment the list of things that could happen in my life are seemingly endless. Though some may be more far fetched than others, they are none the less within the scope of possibility. While the theist lot runs from chance as if it’s something to be feared, the non-theists seem to embrace uncertainty and all the possibilities that it entails.

My moods cycle downward during school breaks. During these down cycles I tend to reach for two books to pull me back up.  Hope for the Flowers by Trina Paulus and The Consolation of Philosophy by Boethius.  These two books have brought me off the ledge more times that I can count.  When I’m at the very bottom of my worst cycles these two books can remind me how important hope and fortune are.

 

 

 

About thistlesandweeds

I'm pretty much a big deal. View all posts by thistlesandweeds

Leave a Reply

