You were always Yellow

I showed you this book thinking that I was Yellow. Thinking I had something to share. I’m not sure what exactly.

But now I can see that you were always Yellow and I was Stripe.

Struggling to keep up.

Now you’re flying away, so far from where I’ll ever be able to reach.

And it’s so lonely here, back in these pages.

Remembering a time when I thought I could be Yellow too.

“Tired and sad, Stripe
crawled off to the old place
where Yellow and he
had romped.

She was not there, and he
was too exhausted to go
further.

He curled up and fell asleep.”

~Hope for the Flowers – Trina Paulus

About thistlesandweeds

I'm pretty much a big deal. View all posts by thistlesandweeds

3 responses to “You were always Yellow

  • nullfuture

    In the words of Alice – ‘Curiouser and curiouser’

    People always ask me why I have insight into other peoples lives yet none whatsoever into my own. My reply is ‘Can’t see the woods for the trees’. It takes insight from outside to help me see that the tree I see is part of the wood I’m in. Doesn’t make sense but then you can’t see the big picture when you’re stood up close to the picture, and being the people we are, it’s hard not to be nose to canvas.

    Long intro to what I was going to say initially but it was important to me to say where I’m coming from with this.

    You are you. From what I can glean, you are young, attractive (yes seen the pics you’ve posted), intelligent, and wracked with so much doubt about yourself that you find it hard to resolve who you are with who you imagine you might be. Remembering times when things were far less complex, stirring up old memories to brighter times now gone. It’s all part of who and what we are.

    However, the brighter times have only gone behind a cloud, your memories are the shining of it appearing from behind. These times will return, never the same ones as everything evolves, even the sun, but they will be brighter all the same.

    Is that the bigger picture others can see?

    No.

    The bigger picture is that you are the sun, shrouded from everything else by the cloud, with everyone seeing the silver lining that the sun gives to all clouds.

    Take from this what you will, write it off as the ramblings of a mad man (you wouldn’t be the first), or some nonsensical or even whimsical musings of someone who doesn’t know. But it is what it is, what I believe.

  • thistlesandweeds

    Thank you so much for your kind words. They did in fact help.

Leave a Reply

